jessicacolleenmcdermott

Poetry/Creative non-fiction/fiction

My Scar February 1, 2012

Filed under: Poetry — jessicacolleenmcdermott @ 6:00 am
Tags: , ,

It’s melted into my skin like a line of pink chewed bubble gum.

I got the scar last winter, living at the Nottingham house. I

Was pulling pizza out of the oven, when the cookie sheet

Bit my wrist. The stun of heat, like light after a nights

Sleep, made my eyes shut and hot pads slip. I ran

Water over my skin, it stung for days after.

Today it’s numb. It rests now, like a body

In a grave. It is silent. And with time,

It might completely fade until

It is gone.

 

Leave a Reply

