jessicacolleenmcdermott

Poetry/Creative non-fiction/fiction

Permanence March 26, 2012

Filed under: Poetry — jessicacolleenmcdermott @ 5:09 am
Tags: , , , ,

Anitya:  impermanence, a belief that to understand reality and relieve suffering one must accept that everything is in a constant state of change.

 

In a damp parking lot again, your bare arms touch mine.

You take me inside, give me your bed to sleep in.

I have a dream you are beside me. You, on the

couch in the next room.

 

My love, like melting dew or retreating tides. We have

changed. I am not nineteen in your red sweatshirt. You

are not asking me to move to Seattle. But, why do the

songs I sent you  every day for five months still sing you

to sleep?

 

Where are we now?

Not the beaches or the Best Western or the parking lots, but now?

 

Please understand that I will never be that girl on the beach

again, but I will be me. And I have felt your breath drape along

my neck on  Oregon mornings and traced kisses from your blue

eyes to your mouth that pressed permanently into my skin.

 

Rain turns to snow to ice to steam, but all is water. All

has been us. Us clasping and releasing. Us extending

then retreating. Us apart, but always feeling.

You telling me, I’ll see you again.

 

Leave a Reply

